The US Navy Between the Wars

September 3, 2006

Now that I’ve had a few days to read about the use of blogs in the historian’s profession and about blogs in general, my next task is to give this site some direction by declaring a subject.  Most of my Master’s level papers covered military history, and most of those covered US naval history between WWI and WWII.  This is a period that I find fascinating, because one sees a fighting organization that fights a war in the 10s, contracts profoundly in the 20s, expands greatly in the 30’s, and fightes another war in the 40s.  The contraction and expansion is accompanied by retrenchment in some areas of doctrine and tactics, and by revolutionary changes in others.  This era of profound change bookended by major wars still provides object lessons in strategy, planning, tactics and doctrine.

So, I’m going to attempt to provide access through this site to papers I’ve written on the following subjects:

  • The unintended consequences of the 1922 Washington Naval Treaty
  • How FDR leveraged the changing political climate in the 30s to encourage the passage of the Vinson-Trammel Act on Naval Expansion
  • Why the Joint Board reversed strategic doctrine at the 11th hour and decided to mount an active defense of the Phillipines in 1941 (master’s thesis)
  • Why the prewar battleships were not used in combat in the first year of the war in the Pacific, though they were available.

 More coming – watch this space…

One Response to “The US Navy Between the Wars”


  1. I would like one Danish hot dog please.

    I just wanted to comment on your blog site. The layout is great- much better than my choice. I chose my layout to upload a banner. I also liked the hotdog stand “menu” idea. Ever heard of a Danish hotdog?

    The topic is of my interest too, and I look forward to reading your material.

    r/s
    Dieter Stenger


Leave a Reply

